Sonate Pathetique - ii
(Clarinet and Guitar)

Op. 13, No 8

Score Previews

Audio Sample


The Adagio movement opens with the famous cantabile ("in a singing style") melody. This theme is played three times, interspersed with two modulating episodes: the first going from F minor to E flat major, the second from A flat minor to E major. With the final return of the main theme, the accompaniment becomes richer and takes on the triplet rhythm of the second episode. The brief coda's stylistic diversity is arresting: four bars of Romantic transcendence followed by a strikingly conventional 18th-century close. Another interesting feature of the Adagio is its range in texture. After having a thick four-voice texture in the principal theme, Beethoven temporarily reduces the texture to one voice near the closing of the B section. The same kind of textural reduction takes place in the opening and last measures of the coda.



Score & parts

Credit cards accepted via PayPal:
VISA MasterCard Amex PayPal

Music scores for Classical Guitar solos and ensembles

Scores Related by: